The New American Wing Galleries at the Metropolitan Museum of Art

New American Wing Galleries

Yesterday, Sunday 1/15/2012, I attended a member’s showing of the new version of the American Wing at the Met. American Art as well as American history are two of my favorite subjects. The American Wing has been under renovation for some time. The new galleries that were added are beautiful. I took some photos. A few are below of paintings that I particularly like.

Painting of Saint-Gaudens painting (great frame)
George Washington Crossing the Delaware by Emanuel Gottlieb Lentze 1851 in one of the new galleries.
The Thinker: Portrait of Louis N. Kenton by Thomas Eakins (1900), one of my very favorite American Artists
Mrs Hugh Hammersley by John Singer Sargent (1892)
F. Ambrose Clark (obviously one of the 1%) by Robert Henri (1904)

Leave a comment