James Joyce’s 129th Birthday Today

James Joyce (2 February 1882 – 13 January 1941)

My DailyLit

James Joyce on the Cover of Time

Why not have an Irish Whisky to honor him?   Or, at least, an Irish coffee.  Or else, spend the day in an Irish pub, which is probably what he would have done.  If I were in Dublin, I’d take a walk along the River Liffey.

This is a quote from Ulysses that I always liked:

The sun set on Bloomsday at twenty-seven minutes past eight and its undertaking shadows wrapped the rocks of Sandymount Strand in deep purple thought.

I love how he assigns a color to thought, and this line makes me imagine how glorious it would be to be on the Strand at that time.

Joyce was on the cover of Time magazine twice.  Notice how both times they make an issue of his failing eyesight.

The first photos I thought of putting at the top of this post were of Paris and not of Ireland.  What’s ironic is that I instinctively associated Joyce with Paris rather than Ireland.  He spent a good deal of his adult life living in Paris but writing about Dublin.  Also, I’ve been to Paris, therefore, I have photos I’ve taken to feature, but I’ve never been to Dublin, where I’m dying to go and take the James Joyce tour.

You might be interested in reading another post I did about Joyce called Ineluctable Modality of the Visible.

James Joyce on the cover of Time Magazine
This is an artist trading card I made with J.J. on it.
Another Artist Trading Card I made using an image of J.J.
2 thoughts on “James Joyce’s 129th Birthday Today

  1. Thank you for your comment. I haven’t read this post of mine in such a long time, I’ll have to back and see what I said about sin. I’m sure Joyce would never have used that word

    Like

  2. I woke up in the middle of the night here in Saigon with this damned phrase “ineluctable modality of the visible” in my head and I couldn’t get back to sleep. At first I couldn’t remember “modality”, then it came. Soon I wanted to get rid of the whole phrase, but I couldn’t, so I got up, switched on my computer, and came across your site. Thank you. I don’t know about the “sin” part, though – I’m not inclined to a Catholic reading of Joyce, though clearly that religion influenced him deeply in his youth. So I stopped reading your blog there. I’m British and have been to both Dublin and Paris. They couldn’t be more different, but I like them both – humane cities, unlike so many.

    Like

Leave a Reply

