Weekly Photo Challenge: Oops!

In response to the Posts Weekly Photo Challenge:  Oops This is supposed to be a photo that was a disaster.  Usually my disasters, I delete immediately, but this one (above)  I kept after the fact.  As soon as I looked at it in my camera, I thought to myself “I think I’ve got a photo to fit the Oops! photo challenge.”

At first, I had no idea what that blurry object is in this photo, but now I can see that a man on a  Citi Bike rode by me just as I snapped the photo, which I took to show Santa Claus walking down the street. Also notice the man sitting inside at Starbucks.  He looks like his legs are cut off at the ankles. Taken in the East Village. NYC (photo is far more interesting if you click on it to enlarge.  You can see the people’s faces.)

Today was SantaCon Day, which occurs every year in NYC around this time.  That’s why there’s a Santa Clause in the above photo.  People dress up in Santa Costumes and go to bars and goof off. This event began a few years back as a much bigger way with venues in either Central Park or the streets of the West Village, but it’s popularity has really dwindled into just people going to  a few bars, that cater to the event, and getting drunk.   The event has gotten a lot of bad publicity in recent years because sometimes fights break out with so many people drinking.  The day keeps the police busy with a lot of stupid things.

Below are three photos that came out a little better.

One of the best dressed women I saw.
One of the best dressed women I saw in the Village.

Santa Con 12/12/15

Young New Yorkers celebrating the annual SantaCon pub crawl 2015, The East Village.  It was so warm today, some people were wearing shorts and tee shirts.  I’ve never seen it like this before so close to Christmas in NYC.

Life is a Caboret on Santa Con.

Life is a Cabaret on the annual SantaCon day on Broadway in the East Village.  K-Mart was selling Santa Hats for $3.00.  

4 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Oops!

Leave a Reply

