Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition

Please forgive me if I’ve shown this photo before, which I think I did sometime ago, so I’m hoping no one will remember, but I couldn’t find another that illustrated this challenge.

Back in 1980 when I took this photo, one had to manually progress the film on one’s camera. Sometimes the film didn’t move or one would forget to advance the film to the next frame, so one would get an overlay, which was what happened in this photo. On the bottom left of the photo, in North Beach, is our neighborhood derelict, who lived on the street, sitting on the curb.  On the right side of the photo is the famous photographer Richard Avedon signing autographs at a gallery opening of his photos.  I think the juxtaposition of these two people from the opposite ends of the social spectrum is what is interesting about this photo.  During the day, I took the photo of the derelict and the hungry i, a San Francisco nightclub which featured topless entertainment, and then that night I went to the Avedon opening at an elite art gallery, so another juxtaposition is that of the hungry i (a sleezy North Beach joint) and the elite Nob Hill art gallery in which you can see a man in the background looking at the exhibit.

RichardAvedon

Below is another photo that I took on the same night of the Avedon exhibit. You can see Avedon’s portrait of Francis Bacon on the back wall. What I think is interesting about this photo is the juxtaposition of the 3 women. These 3 woman are all entirely different types. One is very sexual, the girl in the middle looks like an innocent college girl, and the girl on the left looks like she is the type that is exactly in-between the other two types.

GalleryOpening2
I consider this photo the best one I’ve ever taken.

4 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition

Leave a Reply

