Remembering my Father on this Veteran’s Day

Father during WWII
Father during WWII

My Father, John T. Alstrom, Jr. (1914-1984), was a professional Army Officer from the beginning of WW II until 1951 when he had to retire because he had his leg blown off in Korea when he stepped on a land mine.  He was born in Baltimore, Md., and died in Sun City, Arizona.  After he retired from the Army, he and my stepmother lived in Monterey Park, California, where he worked helping disabled veterans.

Father always smoked a pipe.
Father always smoked a pipe.

During WWII, father was first in China then transferred to the Aleutian Islands.

After WWII, father was stationed in Germany where my mother and myself went to live with him for six months.  He was a Captain but then was promoted to a Major at the time he was discharged in 1951.

Mother, Father and myself (age 4) in Germany in 1946
Mother, Father and myself (age 4) in Büdingen, Germany in 1946
071
Father in China cerca 1940
parents_dandaily
Mother, Father with actor Dan Daily at Ciro’s nightclub in Hollywood, California 1951.  Father loved drinking and eating excessively, until he got diabetes.
663b7609_985726
Newspaper clipping of father receiving the Purple Heart.  I have retained his Purple Heart.  That and a couple of other metals is all I have from him.
BronzeStarCertificate
He received the Bronze Star for saving the life of a fellow soldier.  I knew nothing about this until an historian on-line told me about it.  He found this certificate at an estate sale in Tennessee and looked me up on the internet.

4 thoughts on “Remembering my Father on this Veteran’s Day

Leave a Reply

