The Alexander Calder Scandal

Calder
On the front page of the New York Times, October 30, 2013

For you who missed reading the front page of the New York Times this morning, I will reiterate the story that was honored concerning Alexander Calder, whose smallest mobiles sell in the range of $1,000,000.  I guess the art world and market interests me to no extent, so it’s a taken that I would write about it on my blog.  Why I love Calder is that every time I look at one of his mobiles, I say to myself “I want to make one of those, too.”  I think all people like the people who inspire them and want to make them do things they haven’t done before.  For me the challenge of mobiles is that there is a slight degree of science involved in that they have to be physically, as well as visually, balanced.
[“A lot of times maturing as an artist is just starting to do the things you like to do.”  —John Currin during the 2013 Walter Annenberg Lecture on October 29.]

The long and the short of it is that Calder’s heirs are accusing Calder’s agent of Fraud.  They said he sold fake Calder’s and stashed many away for himself.  I thought that the juiciest bit of gossip was learning that Calder had a secret Swiss bank account into which his dealer deposited all of his earnings.  [for complete story in the Times, click here]

The New York Times, October 30, 2013

SCAN0079

stairway
This is a photo that I took of a Calder (sorry I didn’t get it all in) that hangs in a stairwell at the Museum of Modern Art. I thought it funny to hang a million dollar art object in a stairwell where hardly anyone ever goes. Most people don’t use the stairs but take elevators or escalators.
A Calder Mobile
A Calder Mobile
One thought on “The Alexander Calder Scandal

Leave a Reply

