Day 4 After Sandy in Staten Island

I lived in a bungalow in Midland Beach, Staten Island for 15 years. [see my post –“An Afternoon at Midland Beach, Staten Island, USA ] therefore, I was anxious to go look at it and see if my old house were still there. I got there by walking down New Dorp Lane to New Dorp Beach, then walking on the beach to Midland Beach, which is the next beach down from New Dorp. I walked along the beach which was entirely empty of people, except at first I saw one man with a camera like me, but he left. I saw a dead dog on the beach, but I didn’t take a Picture of it. It was awful. The air was clear and the sky was the most beautiful I had ever seen it.

Walking down New Dorp Lane to New Dorp Beach.

I walked along the beach from New Dorp to Midland Beach without seeing another person. Then I walked up Midland Avenue to Kiswick St, where I used to live, and looked at my old house. It didn’t look injured from the outside, which surprised me because it was very inured and fragile when I was living in it, which was one reason I moved. I then continued walking up Midland Avenue to Hylan Blvd. where on the corner they have a MacDonalds. I was exhausted by this time. I had been walking for over two hours, and my back was starting to hurt. I had breakfast at MacDonald before continuing on my journey to end up at home again.

This is New Dorp Beach. Man at far right was another photographer. You can see all the debris on the beach. It doesn’t normally look like that.  There was a dead dog, who looked as though he died in agony, but I photographed the scene above it.  The land in the far distance is New Jersey.
This is where New Dorp Beach fades into Midland Beach, looking towards Brooklyn. You can see the Verrazano Narrows Bridge in the far distance on the left.  At the end of the land in the distance on the right is Coney Island in Brooklyn.  Strangely, there were no seagulls on the beach, but I saw one dead one.
Walking along the beach I came across some one’s front porch sitting on the beach near the water. It has the address of 15 on it. There was also a chair on the porch sitting entirely upright.  Maybe someone had been sitting it and looking at the magnificent view.
In Staten Island there is a tremendous gasoline shortage going on. These are just a portion of the people lined up with their containers to get a few gallons of gas at the station on Hylan Blvd. and New Dorp Lane. There was also a line of cars at least a mile long to get gas.

2 thoughts on “Day 4 After Sandy in Staten Island

Leave a Reply

