El Anatsui and His Masterpiece in the Metropolitan Museum of Art

Website Translation Widget

My personal opinion of El Anatsui is that he is the greatest artist alive.

I love art made from found objects. I think the greatest example of this appears at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in the work by El Anatsui called Between Earth and Heaven, in which he incorporates with wire discarded metal soft drink can labels, whiskey labels, and bottle caps into a work of great art that has the appearance of the African tradition of strip-woven textiles

Between Earth and Heaven by El Anatsui
Bottle Caps attached by wire
Pink Metal Can Labels attached by wire
Photo of El-Anatsui taken from the Internet

You might also check out my post entitled “Why Art?” which also features the work of El Anatsui

I also have a board on Pinterest devoted to the works of El Anatsui that you might check out.

Leave a comment