Last Friday Night at the Metropolitan Museum of Art

Spent last evening at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York.  They are open on Friday and Saturday nights with live music as you can see in my video.  Today worked on my video from pictures I took last night.    In it, I attempt humor.

The Cathedrals of Broadway by Florine Stettheimer (1929)

I like how she put the then Mayor of NYC Jimmy Walker into it.  It looks like a newspaper clipping.   I like the look of mixed-media art.  It’s nice how she continues the theme of the painting with the frame.  I’ve never seen this painting before in the museum although I’ve been going there for years.  Sometimes it takes a long time to get recognized as great.  I also think that after a period of  time, the general taste in what is considered great art changes somewhat.

Manny Moe and Jack from a previous life
Clouds and Water by Arthur Dove

One of my favorite painters is Arthur Dove.

One thought on “Last Friday Night at the Metropolitan Museum of Art

Leave a Reply

